Hungry Heart

“Everybody needs a place to rest
Everybody wants to have a home
Don’t make no difference what nobody says
Aint nobody like to be alone

Everybodys got a hungry heart…”

All day my yogini’s had this going through her head and it’s her yoga teacher’s fault.  Last night’s class started (not unusally) with sthira sukham asanam and thoughts about connecting to the earth.  Then in Janushirasana he encourages the class (again not unusually) to imagine the heart reaching for the toes rather than the head reaching for the knees and, consequently, the heart plunging towards the earth.  “What you’re thinking”, he says, “is how does this fit with being connected to the earth?” “Spooky”, thinks the yogini, as that was pretty much her exact thought.  He suggests that the connection through other parts of the body suffices.  But my yogini asks her heart, “is that enough?” and her heart replies, “No.  I hunger for the earth.”  So now you can see where the internal singing has come from.  “So, Custard”, asks my yogini, “how do I satisfy my heart’s earth hunger?”  Well I’m new to this blogging malarky and feel I’ve got to the point where it says, “insert, pithy, witty, wise answer here”, but the problem is I don’t have one.  And I pretty certain that the combination of “well it’s sure not eating more, although that feels like a solution”, and “and for heaven’s sake STOP humming”, is not really going to cut it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment